My Environment

  1. I interact with the environment in many different ways. In the winter my family and I go out to our family farm and snow shoe around the yard and up the drifts that the wind has made. We also camp out there as we just turn the heat on in our camper and still have a fire and we would in the summer. Over our summer holidays we also go camping in the mountains or mostly in Banff national park. We go on trails all day everyday and see what nature has to offer as we hike through. When we were there it was amazing to be walking through where all of the waterfalls were and then an hour later we were walking on the frozen glacier water. Two completely different environment but also were both amazing to see. For me own environment I don’t like the cold, so I would have like a spring weather. I would have weather in the mid 20 degrees but also I like the rain. Living in Canada we obviously get our fair share of snow, but I still don’t overly like it. when I went to Vancouver and Banff the weather wasn’t to hot but it was still ” t-shirt” weather, but you still had the cool rainy most. These are the experiences that led me to love the rain and the sun at the same time. We can enjoy so many more things in nice weather, sure there is lost to enjoy in the winter, but for me I really enjoy the amount of things to do in the spring/summer.

Anthropocentric is the belief that says human beings are the central or most significant species on the planet.

Biocentric this is a stance in which asserts the value of non human life. its a concept of replacing physics with biology in our understanding of the universe.

Ecosentric this is an nature- centered rather than a human- centered system of values behind the earth.

Technocentric  value system that is centered on technology and its ability to control and protect the environment.

Ecofeminism describes the movements and philosophies that link feminism and ecology. “Feminine” values such as reciprocity, nurturing and cooperation, which are present both among women and in nature are a big factor in this.

I think that right now I lean more towards Anthropocentric, just because its was kind of what I was raised around, its what my parents believe and I was then taught that. I think that once we go more into this course I will lean more things about them and maybe my decision will change.

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. rileypope · February 23, 2016

    This gives a very good description of what your ideal environment. Good job!

    Like

  2. catsandmorecatsblog · February 23, 2016

    I’m going to Banff this summer to, but not to enjoy nature ha ha… mostly to enjoy what the night clubs have to offer. Same thing right?? Really wish I could go through the trails and stuff during the day though, it sounds pretty cool!

    Like

Leave a comment